First Impressions of England!

So I have arrived in Bath! But more on that in the next post. This is just for first impressions of England,  and maybe a bit of the process getting there too.

It didn’t hit me that “Wait. . . I’m GOING ON A PLANE alone” until I was putting my things through to be scanned (despite the fact that at that point, Mom, Heather, and Teresa were still almost visible, waving like mad every time they caught sight of me). But, I got over it.

The best part of the plane ride was when we were waiting and one of the workers kept paging “Uh. . . I have a flight for. . .um. . . BAY-SELL. . . BAA SEEL? [I had noticed there was a flight to Basel. He apparently had never heard of, nor could he pronounce the city]. . . Could um [insert unintelligible, badly mangled, Arabic sounding name here] please come? We are waiting for you” At which point he then tried several other ways of pronouncing the name, and then let out a huge sigh. This of course was all on the intercom system. Everyone snickered.

The worst part of the flight was the food. It was the microwave curry just like Lucas had been telling me about.. (a choice of Chicken curry or vegetarian curry). Now don’t get me wrong, I’m a curry fan. I just don’t like mush. And it’s not exactly the choice of food I’d pick for spending 7 hours in a plane with people.

Anyway. Once I caught the first glimpse of Britain from the plane, I was surprised at how different it looked from home. It was very much a patchwork quilt in browns and greens, with curiously rounded trees in neat (but not always straight) lines separating the patches.

I got to take an earlier train, since getting off the plane was so simple (I took a ride to Reading. But I did not Pass Go, so I did not Collect $200).

And through the ride I kept noticing the little differences. I was expecting more similarity, but I kept thinking how BRITISH all the little villages we passed were. But of course they were. The cars were delightful, and the licenses were just like the ones I see in the movies. Even the COWS looked different. They’re still black and white, but not the SAME black and white. Very curious. But my favourite part was the kids with English accents! Now I hear it relatively often in adults, but never in kids. My favourite expression by a little boy talking out of the corner of his soother. “Oi, Mum!” (And his Mom was all, “yes hunnie?”)

Anyway. That’s all for now. Just to let you all know I arrived alive. Stay tuned for my thoughts on Bath!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “First Impressions of England!

  1. Heather :)

    Take a picture of those cows for me. I can’t think of how they would be. PS. Maybe you’ll see the guy from Shaun of the Dead. If you do, say hey from me.

  2. traveljess

    I hope I do see him. That would be cool.

  3. Happy to hear you arrived safe and sound! Can’t wait to hear about your travels.

  4. I wish to be there too

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

