And Some Favourite Podcasts ** 2 weeks today!!

So that first big trip is finally becoming visible on the horizon. Two weeks today I’ll be madly making sure I have everything before my drive up to the Toronto airport. Things are really coming together!

Although that also means I have that first tinge of anxiety. Even though my trip is so planned to such an extent (wow, I’m getting kind of anal retentive about it), I’ve got that worry. Like… you know, “Wait a sec, have I ever really taken a train before? And now I want to travel by train around an unfamiliar place [with mostly unfamiliar languages] for 2 months?” But… it goes away. Pretty easily, because I’m just so pumped to get out of here and get on with seeing things!

Today’s plan: rip up my guidebooks to make a MASTER GUIDEBOOK of only the most pertinent information (of course).

For today’s post though: I don’t only adore books & websites, but I also love podcasts, so I decided to make a bit of a review of some of the travel (or European travel) ones I’ve been listening to.  In alphabetical order from my iTunes…

A Year in Europe – my very favourite! A couple in their mid 30’s leave their jobs & California home to.. yep… travel Europe for a year. Nice long episodes (about 1 hr each) with entirely personal accounts of their experiences in different cities and countries.

Amateur Traveler Podcast – Not one of my top podcasts, but still enjoyable. About 30 min episodes of one main guy talking about a place he has been, or alternately interviewing someone on a place that they have been.  Lots of variety, but most seem to be in the Western hemisphere/Northern hemispheres.

Frommers.com Podcast – around 20 min podcasts, which are mostly (like the books) for the more higher budget traveller (though there are some “MTV” and “Student” specials) Not too many off-the-beaten-path locations.

Lonely Planet TravelCasts – about 15 min long, and pretty much only off-the-beaten path locations. Hardly any to listen to for my “getting excited about Europe” mode, but there’s lots of interesting places to hear about. It’s also a very youthful podcast… pretty much the opposite of the Frommer’s one.

Rough Guides Podcast – For some reason I expected this to be similar to my Rough Guides guidebook.. but really they are not even all travelcasts. (Such as “The Rough Guide to the Rolling Stones”) – I wonder if they get many listeners, because their topics are all over the charts.

Travel with Rick Steves – This one I also think is fabulous. Each episode focuses on a location or two, and has an expert/travel guide from there as well as a call-in show. This is an internet broadcast of Rick’s radio show. I loved that it was heavy on European topics, since Rick is kind of known as an expert on Europe. But it has enough other places to get a really nice taste (and get bitten by the travel bug again)

Walks of a Lifetime – An interesting one for once I arrive in Europe – 15-25 minute walks of famous cities all around the world. And this podcast has been going on for a while, so they’ve got a good number of cities.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “And Some Favourite Podcasts ** 2 weeks today!!

  1. I find the Frommers and Rough Guides almost useless too. I have never listened to Walks of a lifetime.

    Try budacast.hu for a Budapest podcast and (can I plug my own) Indie Travel Podcast for tips on independent travel. There’s heaps of Euro-centric stuff since we just spend 2.5 years travelling there. I also enjoy Notes from Spain and Italy Travalogue.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

