Backpacking Europe…and itinerary as of now

Well hello!

In case you don’t know me, I’m a Canadian 20-something, and a recent university graduate. I hope to someday see… well… the world! I’m starting with Europe, and I’m backpacking solo this Fall 2008. I plan to update this blog at least twice a week in the times leading to the trip, and during the trip as well.

To start, here’s my basic itinerary. (I know it’s quite planned out, but I can always change things once I get there. It’s my first time in Europe, and I want to make sure I’ll be able to see everything I hope to). The dates I have listed are actually where I’ll be spending the nights – some of the days I’ll be travelling between cities.

August 27: Fly into London from Toronto (arrive on the 28th)

August 28-31: Bath (with a trip out to Stonehenge)

Sept 1-4: London

Sept 5-8: Amsterdam (with stop for lunch & a museum in Brussels en route, and possible sidetrips to Haarlem, The Hague, Delft)

Sept 9-10: Visiting family in Hannover & Kropp, Germany? (still have to talk to them)

Sept 11-14: Berlin

Sept 15-16: Prague

Sept 17-20: Vienna (with a stop in Salzburg)

Sept 21-24: Munich (for Oktoberfest! With possible sidetrips to Dachau & Neuschwanstein Castle)

Sept 25-27: Venice

Sept 28-30: Cinque Terre (probably in Manarola)

Oct 1-4: Rome

Oct 5: Naples (sidetrips to Pompeii & Herculaneum)

Oct 6-9: Barcelona (fly from Rome)

Oct 10-11: Carcassonne, France (with a stop at Figuerues, Spain to see the Dali Teatro-Museo)

Oct 12-15: Provence region, probably staying in Aix, but possibly visiting Avignon, Arles, Marseille, Isle-sur-la-soruge, or Loumarin

OCt 16-19: Paris (also go to Versailles)

Oct 20: Dublin (fly from Paris)

Oct 21-22: Visiting family in Bunclody, Ireland? (still have to talk to them1)

Oct 23: Dublin again

Oct 24-28: Ireland tour with Paddy Wagon Tours

Oct 29: Dublin once more

Oct 30: Fly out of Dublin for Toronto

– Jess

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Backpacking Europe…and itinerary as of now

  1. Hey,
    This looks like a fun itinerary. I live in Avignon and write a blog about living and traveling in France. You might find it useful. Happy travels!

  2. sarandipity3

    Wow. What you’re doing is awesome! You’ll return with a completely different perspective on the world. Inexpensive way to travel, too!

    I’m an American spending my next school year abroad in Spain– maybe you’ll stop by Jerez if you’ve got the time:
    http://www.studentinspain.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

